Triathlon Ireland Junior Squad Confirmed

By Triathlon Ireland | 16 Dec, 2013

Following on from a successful 2013 season and hugely popular Talent ID Day the 2014 Junior Squads have been confirmed. The level of interest, competition and quality of athletes continues to rise and despite 3 athletes progressing from Junior to the Elite U23 ranks the junior squad has swelled in numbers yet again.

Emma Sharkey, Aaron O’Brien and Chris Mintern will be stepping up to U23 level and are now eligible to race in international draft legal Olympic distance races. They will be targeting events such as the British Super Series, ITU Continental Cups and the Commonwealth Games for those eligible.

The 2014 Junior Squads are as follows:

Junior Elite Athletes

Aichlinn O’Reilly, Westport

Con Doherty, Westport

Harry Speers, Bangor

Kieran Jackson, Waterford

Maedbh Hurst, Galway

Stephen Rooney, Ennis

Junior Development Athletes

Erin Bain, Tyrone

David Fox, Cork

Darren Dunne, Tipperary

Daire McCloskey, Sligo

Emma Watson, Antrim

Michael Ryan, Kilkenny

Jemma Speers, Belfast

Youth Development Athletes

Niamh Corry, Dublin

Aoife Fay, Louth

Sophie O’Brien, Meath

James Edgar, Antrim

To see the full list of Senior, Under 23 and Development athlete profiles click here

If you would like to join TI’s High Performance Pathway you can try out at any Regional Academy Day or by making contact with 160 points are required for the youth squad and 155 points for the junior squad or exceptional talent displayed. More details here

Related Event: 2013 Athlone ETU Triathlon Junior European Cup
07 Jul, 2013 • event pageall results
Results: Junior Men
1. Constantine Doherty IRL 00:54:41
2. Christopher Mintern IRL 00:55:01
3. Emile Blondel FRA 00:55:15
4. Anders Lund Hansen DEN 00:55:15
5. Erwin Vanderplancke BEL 00:55:21
6. Emil Deleuran Hansen DEN 00:55:24
7. Raphael Pujol-Siwane FRA 00:55:27
8. Liam Lloyd GBR 00:55:28
9. Aaron O'Brien IRL 00:55:48
10. Alex Hill GBR 00:56:00
Results: Junior Women
1. Ditte Kristensen DEN 01:03:26
2. Ivana Kuriackova SVK 01:03:44
3. Emma Sharkey IRL 01:06:36
4. Eliza Cottington GBR 01:08:21
5. Ipek Oztosun TUR 01:09:42
6. Mégane Van Steenwinckel BEL 01:11:27
7. Armanni Antoine-Chager GBR 01:16:26