Italy names team for London 2012 Olympic Games

By Merryn Sherwood | 06 Jul, 2012

The Italian Olympic Committee has confirmed the Italian triathlon team for the London 2012 Olympic Games, naming Alessandro Fabian and Davide Uccellari to compete in the men’s triathlon event and Annamaria Mazzetti in the women’s competition.

Mazzetti has had an excellent two years on the ITU circuit, which coincided perfectly with the Olympic Qualification period. She has claimed three ITU World Cup silver medals, at Huatulco in 2011 and Tiszaujvaros in the same year, and at Holten in 2010, as well as a bronze medal at the 2011 ETU Triathlon European Championships. London 2012 will be her first Olympics.

Fabian and Uccellari are also both making their Olympics debut, and have also been making a steady rise up the ITU ranks. Fabian capped his qualification period off with a career best fifth place finish at the ITU World Triathlon Madrid. The 2009 U23 Duathlon World Champion also finished fifth at the 2011 and 2012 ETU Triathlon European Championships.

Uccellari broke through for his first ITU World Cup podium in Ishigaki this year, and the silver medal there was enough to put him firmly in the Olympic qualification picture and keep him there when it ended on May 31. He claimed silver at the 2011 Eilat U23 ETU Triathlon European Championships. At just 20 years old, he will be one of the youngest athletes in the men’s triathlon competition in London.

The naming of Italy’s team for the London 2012 Olympic Games means that the final Olympic fields are almost finalised. For a full list of all athletes qualified for London so far, please click here

Related Event: 2012 London Olympic Games
04 - Aug, 2012 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Nicola Spirig SUI 01:59:48
2. Lisa Norden SWE 01:59:48
3. Erin Densham AUS 01:59:50
4. Sarah True USA 02:00:00
5. Helen Jenkins GBR 02:00:19
6. Andrea Hewitt NZL 02:00:36
7. Ainhoa Murua Zubizarreta ESP 02:00:56
8. Emma Jackson AUS 02:01:16
9. Jessica Harrison FRA 02:01:22
10. Kate Mcilroy NZL 02:01:28
Results: Elite Men
1. Alistair Brownlee GBR 01:46:25
2. Javier Gomez Noya ESP 01:46:36
3. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 01:46:56
4. David Hauss FRA 01:47:14
5. Laurent Vidal FRA 01:47:21
6. Jan Frodeno GER 01:47:26
7. Alexander Bryukhankov RUS 01:47:35
8. Sven Riederer SUI 01:47:46
9. Joao Silva POR 01:47:51
10. Alessandro Fabian ITA 01:48:03