Holten to host Sprint European Cup Showdown

By David Peddie | 28 Jun, 2013

This weekend, Holten will host an ITU Sprint European Cup alongside the ETU U23 Championship it what promises to be a real festival of triathlon at one of the most popular venues in Europe.

Alexandra Cassan-Ferrier (FRA), the 2012 U23 Champion, will not be defending her title but does line-up in the Elite Women’s start list for the Sprint European Cup.

A number of former Sprint European Cup winners are also involved; Tamsyn Moana-Veale (AUS) won the last Sprint Cup in Cremona at the beginning of the month. Russia’s Evgenia Sukhoruchenkova was the winner at 2012 Sprint Cup in Mondello.

Slovakia’s speed demon Ivana Kuriackova (SVK) has shown how fast she can run in her three victories in 2013 and if she can stay in contention approaching the run she will have a real chance.

In the Elite Men’s race, Wian Sullwald (RSA) will offer a big threat to the European athletes. He won the 2012 Junior European Cup in Holten last year and is in good sprinting form, having won a silver medal in the ITU Sprint European Cup in Cape Town earlier this year.

Ireland’s Bryan Keane is also in fine sprint form, with two top eight finishes down under in Geelong and Kinloch in 2013.

This will be a great test for the dynamic young British athlete Marc Austin, 3rd in the Junior European Championships in Alanya, and also Jorik Van Egdom (NED).

Van Egdom will be cheered on by the home crowd, something that spurred him onto victory in Horst earlier this year at the European Sprint Distance Duathlon Championships.

Elite Women Start List 

Elite Men Start List 


Live streaming and live timing will be available at

Related Event: 2013 Holten ITU Sprint Triathlon Premium European Cup
29 Jun, 2013 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Declan Wilson AUS 00:56:18
2. Brendan Sexton AUS 00:56:27
3. Ben Kanute USA 00:56:39
4. Marc Austin GBR 00:56:45
5. Bryan Keane IRL 00:56:56
6. Grant Sheldon GBR 00:57:01
7. Jonas Schomburg GER 00:57:04
8. Wian Sullwald RSA 00:57:05
9. Ivan Tutukin RUS 00:57:10
10. Jorik Van Egdom NED 00:57:12
Results: Elite Women
1. Danne Boterenbrood NED 01:03:00
2. Agnieszka Jerzyk POL 01:03:38
3. Tamsyn Moana-Veale AUS 01:03:41
4. Margit Vanek HUN 01:04:46
5. Anneke Jenkins NZL 01:05:04
6. Sophia Saller GER 01:05:09
7. Grace Musgrove AUS 01:05:17
8. Paulina Kotfica POL 01:05:25
9. Claire Michel BEL 01:05:36
10. Daria Pletikapa CRO 01:05:51
Related articles
  • ETU European U23 Championship titles up for grabs in Holten
    Rachel Klamer will attempt a unique double this weekend when she competes in the ETU U23 European Championships in Holten. The newly-crowned European Champion, fresh from her thrilling victory in Alanya just a fortnight ago, is on…
    28 Jun, 2013