2024 Europe Triathlon Powerman Middle Distance Duathlon Championships Wrap-Up

By | 07 May, 2024

The picturesque city of Alsdorf, nestled in the heart of the StädteRegion Aachen, played host to the electrifying 2024 Europe Triathlon Powerman Middle Distance Duathlon Championships this past Sunday. Athletes from around the globe gathered in this vibrant setting to push their limits and showcase their skills in an adrenaline-fueled display of athleticism.

The action-packed Sunday kicked off with the Elite Women’s race at 8:00 AM, setting the tone for an exhilarating day of competition. Spectators witnessed remarkable displays of endurance and determination as athletes tackled the challenging course, comprising running and cycling segments.

In the Elite Women’s race, Melanie Maurer of Switzerland emerged triumphant, crossing the finish line in 02:45:54. Merle Brunnée of Germany secured the second position, showcasing her formidable skills, while Olivia Keiser of Switzerland clinched the third spot, rounding off an impressive display of talent. In the Elite Men’s category, Simon Jørn Hansen of Denmark claimed victory with a remarkable performance, completing the course in a time of 02:25:49. Ondrej Kubo from Slovakia secured the second position, closely followed by Emile Blondel Hermant of France, demonstrating exceptional prowess on the course.

Amidst the elite competition, there was also a strong contingent of age groupers from across Europe, adding to the excitement and camaraderie of the event. Their participation underscored the inclusive nature of duathlon, bringing together athletes of all ages and backgrounds in a celebration of sport and community. Below you can check out the Nations League Age Group medal standings after this first championship of the season!

The event drew to a close with the promise of even greater achievements in the future, as organisers expressed their ambition to bring the World Championship over the middle distance to Alsdorf in 2025. This vision underscores the commitment of all stakeholders, including the city of Alsdorf, the StädteRegion Aachen, and POWERMAN, in elevating the sport of duathlon to new heights.

As Europe Triathlon we extend our gratitude to everyone involved, including participants, fans, and partners. The spirit of camaraderie and sportsmanship that permeated the event serves as a testament to the history and enduring appeal of duathlon.

Photos by Foto Larasch

Related Event: 2024 Europe Triathlon Powerman Middle Distance Duathlon Championships Alsdorf
05 May, 2024 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Simon Jørn Hansen DEN 02:25:49
2. Ondrej Kubo SVK 02:27:07
3. Emile Blondel Hermant FRA 02:28:20
4. Matthew Nelson GBR 02:28:52
5. Thomas Cremers NED 02:29:19
6. Simon Huckestein GER 02:29:42
7. Fabian Holbach GER 02:30:31
8. Fabian Zehnder SUI 02:32:19
9. Wout Driever NED 02:32:31
10. Michael Pfanner SUI 02:32:42
Results: Elite Women
1. Melanie Maurer SUI 02:45:54
2. Merle Brunnée GER 02:48:00
3. Olivia Keiser SUI 02:49:54
4. Corina Ryf SUI 02:52:33
5. Leonie Kleine-Bley GER 02:53:02
6. Rachel Brown GBR 02:53:28
7. Madlen Kappeler GER 02:53:35
8. Nelly Rassmann GER 02:56:19
9. Lisa Strothmann GER 02:58:16
10. Desirée Knecht SUI 03:01:41
Results: 20-24 Male AG
1. Adam Dart GBR 02:36:10
2. Philippe Tostain FRA 02:44:34
3. Lars Janssens BEL 02:47:22
4. William Dumenil FRA 02:51:05
5. Henrik Saathoff GER 02:52:43
Results: 25-29 Male AG
1. Michiel Stockman BEL 02:32:37
2. Rémi Huens FRA 02:33:17
3. Jonas Müller GER 02:36:26
4. Vic Vandendaele BEL 02:38:28
5. Louis Misplon BEL 02:39:01
6. Stijn Witters BEL 02:43:54
7. Philipp Blohm GER 02:44:24
8. Pete Douglass GBR 02:53:40
Results: 30-34 Male AG
1. Joren Jans BEL 02:35:37
2. Grim Doclo BEL 02:37:40
3. Tristan Beaufils FRA 02:38:31
4. Mick Claessens NED 02:39:33
5. Joeri Deleener BEL 02:40:30
6. Yves Becker GER 02:40:30
7. Emeric Louvel FRA 02:40:54
Results: 35-39 Male AG
1. Nick Van der Haegen BEL 02:41:39
2. Nick Oehring GBR 02:42:25
3. Wouter Wuilmus BEL 02:42:30
4. Florian Dinse GER 02:42:43
5. Simon Adyns BEL 02:44:40
6. Jonathan Peters GBR 02:45:53
7. Ronald Beckers BEL 02:46:33
8. Chris Van Wamelen NED 02:48:30
9. Bart Mennink NED 02:48:34
10. Thomas Müller GER 02:48:55