Georgia Taylor-Brown defends her European Championship title in Alanya

By David Peddie | 14 Jun, 2013

Georgia Taylor-Brown sprinted to glory to defend her European Championship Junior title in the scorching afternoon heat in Alanya.

After a couple of months out due to injury, Taylor-Brown showed no ill effects in what was her first European race this year. As part of a lead group of three entering T2, she left her rivals in her wake to cruise home.

Germany’s Laura Lindemann finished second in her first ever European Championships and Italy’s Angelica Olmo secured the final podium place, also in her first ever European Championships.

58 athletes dived into the sea to get the Junior Women’s European Championship underway. After 750m, Russia’s Anastasia Gorbunova emerged from the water closely pursued by Laura Lindemann (GER), Maya Kingma (NED) and Cassandre Beaugrand (FRA).

One by one they trickled out of the sea and only a minute separated the entire field as they headed into T1 and onto the bikes.

After the first bike lap, Lindemann had kept the pace at the front as a lead pack of 13 athletes, including Lotte Miller (NOR), Georgia Taylor-Brown (GBR) and Jeanne Lehair (FRA) held a 15 second advantage over the second group, headed up by Leonie Periault (FRA)

By the end of the second lap, the two packs had formed one –with 24 athletes riding together with Ireland’s Emma Sharkey leading the way.

An unfortunate crash on lap 3, allowed Sharkey, Taylor-Brown and Lindemann to seize the initiative and they broke away to head into T2 some fifteen seconds ahead. The advantage was to prove crucial as once on the run, Taylor-Brown clicked through the gears and was never going to be caught.

“I didn’t think at all that I was going to win as I’ve had two months out from injury and have only just started back running,” said Taylor-Brown. “But I didn’t put any pressure on myself, just told myself to do what I do and it worked out.

“We got a break on the last bike lap, a couple of girls went down, and after that it was just a case of head down and go for it and luckily, I felt alright on the run.”

Lindemann performed magnificently, having been in the lead group at every stage of the race, and she was comfortably in second place.

Lindemann said: “It feels really good, I had to work really hard. I am so pleased as it is my first ever Championship.”

Behind her the battle was for third place. Sharkey had tired and been caught but Periault (FRA), Miller (NOR) and Olmo (ITA) were fighting for third place.

A sprint finish by Olmo gave her the win and it’s only her second ever International podium.

She said: “I am very happy it feels amazing. I could never think that I could get a podium. But I had to work hard, I had to sprint at the end and now I’m really tired but it feels great.”

Related Event: 2013 Alanya ETU Triathlon European Championships
14 - Jun, 2013 • event pageall results
Results: 16-19 Female AG Sprint
1. Clover Murray GBR 01:08:22
2. Molly Mckenzie GBR 01:08:46
3. Isabel Steele GBR 01:09:00
4. Rebecca Ladyman GBR 01:09:02
5. Whitney Larkin GBR 01:09:11
6. Honor Rendall GBR 01:10:38
7. Charlotte Mcrae GBR 01:10:57
8. Charlotte Wickens GBR 01:12:50
Results: 16-19 Male AG Sprint
1. Alastair Rogers ITU 00:58:22
2. Kieran Hill GBR 00:58:26
3. Nicholas Haworth GBR 00:58:43
4. Oliver Swallow GBR 00:58:59
5. Tom Stead GBR 01:00:01
6. Arran Rae GBR 01:01:02
7. Mika Brown GBR 01:01:19
8. James Kidd GBR 01:01:42
9. Adam Edwards GBR 01:05:33
10. Mark Todhunter GBR 01:08:32
Results: 18-19 Male AG
1. Patrick Cutmore GBR 02:04:25
2. James Briscoe GBR 02:10:30
3. Bjarki Freyr Rúnarsson ISL 02:11:42
4. Kurt Gunby GBR 02:30:25
Results: 20-24 Female AG
1. Hannah Cutajar MLT 02:13:05
2. Emily Whitmore GBR 02:13:25
3. Louisa Downs GBR 02:15:29
4. Hannah Johnston GBR 02:21:16
5. Emine Ulucay TUR 02:37:25
Results: 20-24 Female AG Sprint
1. Heather Sellars GBR 01:02:04
2. Sophie Edge GBR 01:07:40
3. Gemma Scott GBR 01:08:08
4. Jennifer Batey GBR 01:08:54
5. Katie Williams GBR 01:11:12
6. Elanor Cadzow GBR 01:12:07
7. Katie Quinn GBR 01:12:54
8. Sezin Tugen TUR 01:12:59
9. Victoria Elmer GBR 01:13:15
10. Emma Ritchie GBR 01:17:06
Results: 20-24 Male AG
1. Samuel Wade GBR 01:55:07
2. Bojan Karanovic SRB 02:01:10
3. Jonathan Yeates GBR 02:01:11
4. Iain Gillam GBR 02:01:15
5. Alfred Chapman GBR 02:03:20
6. Onur Calp TUR 02:04:46
7. James Keir GBR 02:06:05
8. Ryan Hart GBR 02:06:51
9. Alperen Gulbahce TUR 02:18:10
10. James Smith GBR 02:23:13