Dutch Age Group athletes on top in European Long Distance Duathlon Championships

By David Peddie | 14 Apr, 2014

Athletes from the Netherlands claimed six gold medals on home turf at the ETU Powerman European Long Distance Championships in Horst aan de Maas.

One hundred and seventy age group athletes battled the 15km run/60km bike/7.5km course and the Dutch ensured their bright orange tri-suits adorned the top of the podium by winning gold in half of the age group categories.

The youngest age group competitor was in the Women’s 20-25 category where Janneke Loomans (NED) took the title.

In the Women’s 25-29 category, Samme Brough led home Charlotte Jenkinson in a GB one-two. In the Men’s 25-29 category, Baptiste Kestelyn (BEL) became European Champion with Laurence Plant (GBR) second and Bernard Christopher (LUX) third.

Steffi Jansen claimed Germany’s only women’s Long Distance gold medal of the Championships in the 30-34 category. Natalie Shaw (GBR) and Franziska Ruf (GER) completed the podium. In the Men’s 30-34, Andreas Knopp (GER) became European Champion ahead of Mads Karlsson (DEN) and Timon Svoboda (LUX).

Grada Boschker (NED) held off a British challenge of Lucie Custance and Nicki Aitken to claim gold in the 35-39 category with the British duo finishing second and third respectively. Great Britain did win gold in the men’s 35-39 category thanks to Phil Holland with Wim Van De Wielle (BEL) second and Yannick Caillot (FRA) third.

Melina Olsen won Long Distance Duathlon gold for Denmark in the Women’s 40-44 category. Fran Bungay (GBR) earned the silver and Sandra Fuchs (GER) won bronze in third place. In the Men’s 40-44 category, Tom van Dreissche became European Long Distance Duathlon Champion in a Belgian one-two with countryman Olivier D’Haene second. Mark Overtoom (NED) picked up another medal for the Dutch team in third place.

Sophie Chabut (FRA), a runner up in the 45-49 category in Zofingen last year, won European gold with Marianne Schöler (DEN) in second. Marian van Hilst secured another bronze medal for the Dutch Age Group athletes. Former Elite athlete Armand van der Smisser (NED) claimed gold medal in the Men’s 45-49 category. Carl Ferri (GBR) finished second and Jan Goddaer (BEL) finished third.

Wendy Gooding (GBR) became European Long Distance Champion in the Women’s 50-54 category ahead of German duo Regine Bette (GER) and Ulla Henning (GER). Edwin Ophof (NED) won gold for the Dutch in the Men’s 50-54 category. Tomas Bengtsson won Sweden’s only Long Distance Age group medal with second place and Piet Van Tol (NED) claimed third.

The final Women’s Long Distance category was 55-59 where Petra Martens (NED) completed the course to become European Champion.

In the Men’s 55-59, Jack Niessen (NED) led home a Dutch one-two with Wout Graafmans. Heinrich Wilmink (GER) completed the podium.

There was another Dutch one-two in the 60-64 Men’s category with Bart Mulders winning gold ahead of Her Tesselaar. Francis Veit (FRA) finished third for a bronze medal.

In the Men’s 65-70 category, Miroslav Krsek became European Long Distance Champion with Czech Republic’s only Age Group medal. Reinhard Joas (GER) was second with Mick Anglim (GBR) third.

Jürgen Eisfeld (GER) became European Champion in the Men’s 70-74 category and his countryman, the legendary Lothar Bathe (GER) reclaimed his title in the 75-79 category. Jos Put (NED) won the silver medal behind Bathe.

The only Para-duathlete was Daniel Rieb and the Frenchman secured a gold medal and becomes European Champion after completing the course in 4:09:29.

In total, the Dutch Age Groups won twelve medals in the European Long Distance Championships, with the Great British team one behind with eleven.

For full European Long Distance Duathlon Championship Results visit the ETU website.

Related Event: 2014 Horst ETU Powerman Long Distance and Sprint Duathlon European Championships
12 - {entry_finish_date format="%M, %Y"} • event page
Results: Elite Men Long Distance
1. Rob Woestenborghs BEL 02:43:34
2. Kenneth Vandendriessche BEL 02:44:54
3. Yannick Cadalen FRA 02:45:19
4. Benjamin Choquert FRA 02:46:04
5. Søren Bystrup DEN 02:47:43
6. Glen Laurens BEL 02:48:40
7. Yohan Le Berre FRA 02:49:25
8. Evert Scheltinga NED 02:49:37
9. Matt Moorhouse GBR 02:50:18
10. Esben Kaczmarek DEN 02:50:31
Results: Elite Women Long Distance
1. Jenny Schulz GER 03:03:54
2. Sabrina Monmarteau FRA 03:08:23
3. Susanne Svendsen DEN 03:08:50
4. Isabelle Ferrer FRA 03:08:50
5. Katrin Esefeld GER 03:11:35
6. Heleen Bij De Vaate NED 03:11:38
7. Lucie Van Genugten NED 03:12:31
8. Lina-Kristin Schink GER 03:13:05
9. Caroline Dubois FRA 03:14:21
10. Carla Van Rooijen NED 03:16:57
Results: U23 Men Sprint Distance
1. Alberto Della Pasqua ITA 00:54:46
2. Emile Blondel FRA 00:54:51
3. Lorenzo Ciuti ITA 00:55:28
4. Dario Chitti ITA 00:56:01
5. Mark Hamersma NED 00:56:13
6. Ruud De Rybel BEL 00:56:31
7. Maxim Subbotin RUS 00:56:52
8. Juul Van De Kruijs NED 00:57:09
9. Anton Melnikov RUS 00:58:19
10. Igor Ostrovskiy RUS 00:58:24
Results: U23 Women Sprint Distance
1. Giorgia Priarone ITA 01:00:02
2. Pien Keulstra NED 01:01:44
3. Krystsina Rulkevich BLR 01:09:35