Wilson (AUS) and Boterenbrood (NED) win Holten Sprint European Cup

Wilson (AUS) and Boterenbrood (NED) win Holten Sprint European Cup

By David Peddie on 29/06/13 at 5:38 pm

Danne Boterenbrood and Declan Wilson were the winners of two pulsating ITU Sprint European Cup races in Holten.

In the Women’s race, Boterenbrood delighted the home crowd as she raced to her first European Cup victory.

Her previous International career win came in 2011 in the Pan-American Cup in Vina Del Mar but she did secure a top ten finish in Madrid in the World Triathlon Series earlier this month.

Agnieszka Jerzyk (POL) finished second and Australia’s Tamsyn Moana-Veale, who won the Sprint European Cup in Cremona earlier this month, once again showed her sprinting prowess with third place and the bronze medal.

The Men’s race was dominated by non-European athletes as Australian duo Declan Wilson and Brendan Sexton claimed a one-two finish, taking the number of Australian medals to three for the day.

Ben Kanute (USA) completed the podium to win the bronze medal.

Great Britain’s Marc Austin took the plaudits as the highest European finisher in 4th place with Bryan Keane (IRL) and Grant Sheldon (GBR) 5th and 6th respectively.

Elite Women Results

Elite Men Results

Elite Men

1. Declan Wilson AUS AU 00:56:18
2. Brendan Sexton AUS AU 00:56:27
3. Ben Kanute USA US 00:56:39
4. Marc Austin GBR GB 00:56:45
5. Bryan Keane IRL IE 00:56:56
6. Grant Sheldon GBR GB 00:57:01
7. Jonas Schomburg ITU IU 00:57:04
8. Wian Sullwald RSA ZA 00:57:05
9. Ivan Tutukin RUS RU 00:57:10
10. Jorik Van Egdom NED NL 00:57:12

Elite Women

1. Danne Boterenbrood NED NL 01:03:00
2. Agnieszka Jerzyk POL PL 01:03:38
3. Tamsyn Moana-Veale AUS AU 01:03:41
4. Margit Vanek HUN HU 01:04:46
5. Anneke Jenkins NZL NZ 01:05:04
6. Sophia Saller GER DE 01:05:09
7. Grace Musgrove AUS AU 01:05:17
8. Paulina Kotfica POL PL 01:05:25
9. Claire Michel BEL BE 01:05:36
10. Daria Pletikapa CRO HR 01:05:51

Find more details about this event - 2013 Holten ITU Sprint Triathlon Premium European Cup