Multi-National success in Paratriathlon brings European Championships to a close

By David Peddie | 16 Jun, 2013

video placeholder Your video is loading. If the video fails to load please upgrade your Flash player

Multi-National success in Paratriathlon at European Championships

The 2013 European Championships in Alanya reached a stunning climax with the Paratriathlon competition which provided plenty of multi-national winners and some stunning debut performances.

There were a number of firsts across the classifications as six different National Federations shared the medals.

The competition started with the TRI-1 category where Francesc Solo Garcia (ESP) was bidding for a fourth consecutive European title. But Phil Hogg (GBR), in his first ever triathlon event, raised the bar with an amazing performance.

“It’s emotional, I can only thank my coaches and my family and I can’t thank them enough for getting me here,” said Hogg (pictured below). “I was thinking on the third or fourth bike lap that I had a chance but I knew I had to keep on the gas and keep racing.

“Fran’s a really good guy, very helpful and very supportive but I’m happy to take his title.”

Garcia had to settle for a silver medal this year and Joe Townsend (GBR) completed the podium. In the women’s category, Jane Egan (GBR) powered her way to her fourth title in a row.

She said: “I’m really pleased it’s nice to keep the title, I think I’ve had it since 2010. For the first time ever I think I had a really good swim and I enjoyed my swim.

“The long term goal is selection for 2016 but obviously we have to continue to perform and improve and be selected for the squad each season. Keep thinking about the next race and make these small gradual improvements.”

In TRI-2, Stefan Loesler (GER) became European Champion for the first time by beating Andrea Devicenzi (ITA). Giovanni Sasso completed the podium with another medal for Italy.

In TRI-3, Sarah Pearson (GBR) finished the course to become European Champion. In the Male category, Michele Ferrain (ITA) defended his title by once again finishing ahead of Steven Judge (GBR) for the second consecutive year.  Artem Zakharov completed the podium for Russia.

Martin Schulz (GER) defended his title in the TRI-4 category. The German athlete finished ahead of Yannick Bourseaux (FRA) and Jairo Ruiz Lopez (ESP).

“This year was much harder for me because I have been injured,” said Schulz. “I had some problems on my bike but when I was running I couldn’t see anyone around and I thought I must be winning and I did.”

There was another breakthrough winner in the female category where Lauren Steadman (GBR) pipped Claire Cunningham (GBR) to gold. Alena Kaufman (RUS) brought hoem another medal for Russia with her third place finish.

Steadman said: “I definitely had to work hard for this. The swim is my strength and I had a good, smooth transition. On the bike I just wanted to keep distance between myself and everyone else.

“On the run I had jelly legs but I gave it my all.”

Yulia Chernoy (ISR) became European Champion again. Last year In Eilat she won gold in the TRI-3 category and this year she was competed in the TRI-5 classification. Stephane Leroy (FRA) was another European Championship debutant to win gold, as he followed up victory at Bescançon with victory in the Male TRI-5 category.

Leroy, who is more familiar with Long Distance events, said: “I am very happy I can’t quite believe it. The course was excellent. It was difficult but that’s ok and it was worth it.”

Italian duo Andrea Bozzato and Alessandro Colombo completed the podium with silver and bronze respectively.

Two time World Duathlon Champion Ralf Arnold (GER) won his maiden European Championship title with victory in the TRI-6a category. Oren Blitzbau secured a superb second Paratriathlon medal for Israel as he finished in second place and Haseeb Ahmad (GBR) completed the podium.

David Ellis (GBR) denied Iain Dawson a third European Championship title with victory in the TRI-6b category, his maiden title. Dawson, the 2010 and 2012 winner, had to settle for silver in 2013. Maurizio Romeo (ITA) won his first ever Paratriathlon medal with bronze.

In the female TRI-6b category, Melissa Reid (GBR) avenged last year’s European Championship defeat to Charlotte Ellis (GBR) by coming out on top here in Alanya. Ellis took silver and Susana Rodriguez (ESP) finished in third place for the bronze medal.

2013 European Championships Paratriathlon results

Related Event: 2013 Alanya ETU Triathlon European Championships
14 - {entry_finish_date format="%M, %Y"} • event page
Results: 16-19 Female AG Sprint
1. Clover Murray GBR 01:08:22
2. Molly Mckenzie GBR 01:08:46
3. Isabel Steele GBR 01:09:00
4. Rebecca Ladyman GBR 01:09:02
5. Whitney Larkin GBR 01:09:11
6. Honor Rendall GBR 01:10:38
7. Charlotte Mcrae GBR 01:10:57
8. Charlotte Wickens GBR 01:12:50
Results: 16-19 Male AG Sprint
1. Alastair Rogers ITU 00:58:22
2. Kieran Hill GBR 00:58:26
3. Nicholas Haworth GBR 00:58:43
4. Oliver Swallow GBR 00:58:59
5. Tom Stead GBR 01:00:01
6. Arran Rae GBR 01:01:02
7. Mika Brown GBR 01:01:19
8. James Kidd GBR 01:01:42
9. Adam Edwards GBR 01:05:33
10. Mark Todhunter GBR 01:08:32
Results: 18-19 Male AG
1. Patrick Cutmore GBR 02:04:25
2. James Briscoe GBR 02:10:30
3. Bjarki Freyr Rúnarsson ISL 02:11:42
4. Kurt Gunby GBR 02:30:25
Results: 20-24 Female AG
1. Hannah Pace MLT 02:13:05
2. Emily Whitmore GBR 02:13:25
3. Louisa Downs GBR 02:15:29
4. Hannah Johnston GBR 02:21:16
5. Emine Ulucay TUR 02:37:25
Related articles
  • Germany’s Mixed Relay Team crowned European Champions
    The juggernaut that is the German Mixed Relay team added another European Championship relay gold medal to their collection with victory in Alanya. The 2011 winners, and 2012 runners up, claimed another title after a strong team…
    16 Jun, 2013
  • Great Britain win Junior Mixed relay at European Championships
    The British Triathlon Federation showed once again that it is in rude health as its young charges stormed to victory in the Junior Mixed Relay event. Sian Rainsley, Gordon Benson, Georgia Taylor-Brown and Marc Austin won Britain’s…
    16 Jun, 2013