Liévin ETU Indoor Triathlon European & Junior European Cup

By Paul Groves | 18 Feb, 2019

With Liévin starting the 2019 season and with points and with €10,000 prize-money available, let’s hear from the Technical Delegate, Enrique Quesada.

Enrique, what do you think about the venue?
Well, it is for sure a top class venue. The pool is there, the cycling is not on wood, which can be dangerous when wet, but instead it is on tartan and much better. A huge indoor venue with seating for 4,500 people and plans for live-DJ action to really raise the atmosphere.

The venue is quite historic. I hear that many world records have been set there.
Yes, in the 90’s, there were world records in the 200m from Merlene Ottey, JAM and Frankie Fredericks, NAM and many of the world’s top athletes have set meeting records here.

Is it easy to get to?
Yes, for certain if you are from France, Belgium, the Netherlands, UK or Germany and there are good connections with trains and planes too.

Once there, are there any hotels locally?
Well, there is one that is connected to the stadium itself – with a covered walkway joining it. Athletes can make their way from bed to track in a matter of minutes.

It looks like a very tight schedule. How will this be managed?
We will have three transition zones and we will keep all three transition “live” so that, in sequence, we can run race after race after race.

The qualification, repêchage, semi-final and final format has been planned. Does this mean that an athlete can travel all the way there and only race once?
No, not at all. The format means that they will certainly race twice and possibly four times, if they are successful.

What exactly are the distances?
The race format will be 150m swim, 3kms bike and 1km run.

Is it too late to enter now?
Entries are still open. We would like to see more juniors racing and as this is the first race of the ETU Calendar, it is a great opportunity to collect valuable points.

Thanks Enrique. Where can we find out all the current information?
For all current information about the event, please check the ITU Event Website.

Related Event: 2019 Lievin ETU Indoor Triathlon European Cup
02 Mar, 2019 • event pageall results
Results: Rankings Only Male
1. Christopher Perham GBR 00:10:09
2. Csongor Lehmann HUN 00:10:12
3. Pierre Le Corre FRA 00:10:13
4. Arnaud Mengal BEL 00:10:17
5. Tim Van Hemel BEL 00:10:18
6. Ondrej Olsar CZE 00:10:22
7. Mathis Margirier FRA 00:10:22
8. Antonio Benito Lopez ESP 00:10:22
9. Marco Van Der Stel NED 00:10:24
10. Anthony Pujades FRA 00:10:28
Results: Rankings Only Female
1. Nina Eim GER 00:11:24
2. Sandra Dodet FRA 00:11:24
3. Valentina Riasova RUS 00:11:25
4. Alicja Ulatowska POL 00:11:26
5. Justine Guerard FRA 00:11:28
6. Alessia Orla ITA 00:11:30
7. Zoe Thomas GBR 00:11:39
8. Quinty Schoens NED 00:11:43
9. Alzbeta Hruskova CZE 00:11:45
10. Antoanela Manac ROU 00:11:48
Results: Qualifier 1 Elite Men
1. Tim Van Hemel BEL 00:10:39
2. Pierre Le Corre FRA 00:10:39
3. Mathis Margirier FRA 00:10:40
4. Jan Volar CZE 00:10:53
5. Radim Grebík CZE 00:11:01
6. Paul Voelker GER 00:11:17
7. Marc Trautmann GER 00:11:18
8. Sam Vanderjeugt Rojas CRC 00:11:48
9. Pim Venderbosch NED 00:12:24
10. Enric Joan Tejedor ESP 00:16:23
Results: Qualifier 2 Elite Men
1. Anthony Pujades FRA 00:10:42
2. Csongor Lehmann HUN 00:10:44
3. Roberto Sanchez Mantecon ESP 00:10:46
4. Valerio Patanè ITA 00:10:47
5. Tomas Zikmund CZE 00:10:51
6. Simon Duwat FRA 00:11:00
7. Lars Van Der Knaap NED 00:11:01
8. Sabian Kulczynski IRL 00:11:05
9. Stef Corthouts BEL 00:11:29
DSQ. Lennart Sievers GER DSQ
Results: Qualifier 3 Elite Men
1. Marco Van Der Stel NED 00:10:34
2. Igor Bellido Mikhailova ESP 00:10:34
3. Lukas Cervenka CZE 00:10:35
4. Bence Lehmann HUN 00:10:35
5. Arnaud Mengal BEL 00:10:40
6. Raoul Shaw FRA 00:10:48
7. Julien Ferandeau FRA 00:11:14
8. Stijn Jansen NED 00:11:15
9. Cedric Osterholt GER 00:11:18
10. Antoine Muller FRA 00:11:39
Results: Qualifier 4 Elite Men
1. Ondrej Olsar CZE 00:10:43
2. Philipp Wiewald GER 00:10:44
3. Antoine Legout FRA 00:10:45
4. Lars Pfeifer GER 00:10:47
5. Andrey Alypov RUS 00:10:49
6. Raphael Montoya FRA 00:10:58
7. Menno Koolhaas NED 00:11:04
8. Jesús Jimenez Gimeno ESP 00:11:05
9. Jesse Cuijpers NED 00:11:34
10. Thomas Verstraeten BEL 00:11:51